Delivery: Week 1

This is our half-share from week one.  A large pile of kale, big bundle of spring onions,  a bag of lettuce (looks like green leaf or butter), a teeny tiny dill plant (that I’m very excited about, as I’ve been wanting to plant dill) and a small package of strawberries. Overall, it looks promising – I was worried it would be an overwhelming amount, but this amount seems just about right. 

 The strawberries we won’t have a problem using – I could eat them right now, but I’ll wait and share with my husband.  I was surprised we got any – I heard the growing season wasn’t going to be very long, and the farm had a big strawberry festival this weekend.  The lettuce won’t be hard to use either.  Salads we definitely know how to eat.  The spring onions – well, I know I can use those in stir fry, and perhaps in a pasta salad.  I’ll have to see what else I can use those in. 

The kale presents the biggest challenge.  There’s a lot of it.  And I’ve never been big into eating lots of cooked greens.  I suppose I can use some of it in a soup, like a minestrone – heck, I really don’t know what to do with it.  Time to start searching recipes!

(I know the picture is horrible – it was my cellphone camera.  I’ll use a better camera next week.)

3 Responses

  1. Looks great! I can’t wait to see what goodies we can whip up with our first batch of produce. I remember seeing Alton Brown use some kind of leafy green, probably spinach, as part of a binder for a casserole. I can’t wait to share the strawberries with you 🙂

    • Kale, John – lots of kale! What are we going to do with it?

  2. Ok, so I think maybe you owe the poor little kale an apology. You under estimated such a widely loved and supported leaf. That’s probably why CSA gave you so much of it. Who wants tons of strawberries when you can have kale!! Also, are you going to invite your readers to partake in these fabulous meals you create?!

Leave a Reply

