Kale

After searching on the internet, I have discovered a whole contingent of people who love kale. I started with this helpful link on allrecipes: http://allrecipes.com/recipes/everyday-cooking/seasonal/winter/kale/top.aspx.  I then discovered http://iheartkale.blogspot.com/, who led me to http://www.101cookbooks.com/ingredient/kale, which has SO many recipes that look, surprisingly, really good.  I’m intrigued.

Here are the contenders:

  • Baked Kale Chips: This recipe was recommended by our farm, and I also found it online, with LOTS of reviewers raving over it. It’ll be interesting to see how it turns out.
  • Zuppa Toscana: A soup made with bacon, sausage, chopped kale, cream, and potatoes.
  • Sautéed kale with garlic and lemon: I should at least give it a try.
  • Lemony Chickpea Stir-fry: This recipe from the 101 cookbooks blog caught my eye.  I’m kind of starting to get interested in chickpeas – they have such an interesting texture, and I think they can hold up well in place of meat when I don’t feel like eating meat.
  • Almost Cheeseless Pasta Casserole: This stars kale, and keeps the calories down, and who doesn’t like the words “pasta” and “casserole”?

If I do three of those, it should use up the bunch that we got.

2 Responses

  1. Ok, so I think maybe you owe the poor little kale an apology. You under estimated such a widely loved and supported leaf. That’s probably why CSA gave you so much of it. Who wants tons of strawberries when you can have kale!! Also, are you going to invite your readers to partake in these fabulous meals you create?!

    • You’re right. I did underestimate the power of kale. Apparently mom loves it, says it’s much like spinach. I might make a pasta casserole with it tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

