Perogies with Green Onion, Corn, and Sausage

John has been having a craving for perogies lately, so they were on the menu for this week. When I make perogies, I usually saute onions and sausage to go with them.  I figured it would be a piece of cake to swap out the onions for the green onions that we got in this week’s delivery.  I also decided to throw in some corn that we had leftover.

The chopped green onion.

First, I chopped our star ingredient.  I used one stalk, using most of the white after I had cut off the root.  They actually made me tear up, like onions do, which was a good sign that these were really fresh.  The largest central stalk actually had a thick stem with a hollow inside that was pretty cool – made me think of bamboo.

The thick hollow stem.

 

Then I sauteed the green onion with a little olive oil and garlic.  It smelled REALLY good – this with chopped corn would make a great side dish.
I put that aside, then pan fried the perogies, then put those into the oven to keep warm.  Lastly I sauteed the sausage (I used a smoked turkey sausage). After that, I just tossed it all together, and added the corn, which I just let warm up in the pan with the rest of the ingredients.
At the very end I put the perogies back into the pan.
The result?  Good!  The green onions added a pleasant flavor to the mix – slightly more delicate than regular onion, but similar.  I don’t know if it featured the ingredient like it should if I was on iron chef, but luckily for me, I was not. 
3 Responses

  1. It looks easy and delicious. I love this combination.

    • Thank you! It is very tasty – and I LOVE one-pot meals. There’s nothing better than making a delicious dinner and only having a pan, a knife, and a cutting board to wash when you’re finished.

  2. File this recipe under awesome! I ate more than half of that, and while I couldn’t move afterwards…it was worth it. Besides there wasn’t much moving to be done when washing two or three dishes. Thanks honey!

Leave a Reply

