Pineapple – Habanero Salsa

Just FYI – while I was on vacation, my sister accepted the delivery on my behalf, and this is one of her recipes using the spring onion from the CSA delivery. Read the older post, here, for her introduction.

Ok, so I had my small group over for dinner last Thursday and I thought this would be a perfect opportunity to try a little CSA fun.  For Christmas I got this great little book called Delicious Dips from my mom.  I have tried one recipe from it but wanted to try another for an appetizer and I saw a recipe with green onions!  Hurray…those came in the cute red CSA storage container.  (wish I got to keep that) So I decided to make Pineapple – Habanero Salsa.  However, I made it without the habanero.  I know…I’m a rebel!  But habanero sounded too spicy.  And by the way every time I told my husband Lee what I was making he would make me say habanero with the correct pronunciation.  Ok, so here’s the recipe…it’s so easy…and trust me if I say that it’s true. 
 
1 pineapple – cut into ¼ inch dice
1 red pepper – seeded, deribbed and cut ¼ inch dice
4 green onions – including green tops, cut ¼ inch dice
1 pepper – (your choice of how hot, I got a mild one), seeds and ribs removed, finely minced
¼ cup fresh lime juice
2 tablespoons packed light brown sugar
1 teaspoon chopped fresh thyme
½ kosher salt
 
You just mix it all up and let it sit for 1 hour before serving to let flavors meld. 
 
My group loved it and ate it all up!  I think it was the green onions for sure J  Well this has been fun…but I’m ready for Jill to get back!

2 Responses

  1. What a beautiful blog! I love this recipe. I will definitely try this. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Wow that sounds like a great salsa. I’d like to eat it all up, even if it’s not all that spicy. ‘Course I’d have trouble pronouncing(and spelling) habenero too.

Leave a Reply

